Help
Help

Multiplayer in Monster Hunter World (MHW) is an integral part of the game, and the main reason for longevity for many hunters. Whilst completely optional, it has an undeniable appeal for players who want to socialize and experiment with group mechanics.

  • Online Play requires Playstation Plus or Xbox Live Gold
  • Online progress is saved for yourself as well, but you have to watch the main quests on your own.
  • Please see Gathering Hub for information on the hubs of the game.

Multiplayer in Monster Hunter World

How to invite Friends

You can access options-ps4-controls Start Menu > Communication > Invite a Friend to invite a friend, via their Sony Entertainment Network account (SEN account), to your online session.

Note:
- Invited friends will start the game from Astera.

How to join a Friend

You can directly join the Online Sessions of your Sony Entertainment Network account (SEN account) friends.

You can join a friend's session by following these steps:
1. Have a friend create an Online Session or join another player's Online Session.
2. Next, from the PlayStation®4 home screen, go to "Now Playing" in the Friends menu and select "Join Session".
Note:
- Players who join this way will start the game from Astera.

Find Others by Session ID

If you know someone's Online Session ID, you can search for it individually to join it.

To search by Online Session ID, select "Search via Session ID" when searching for Online Sessions.

If you'd like to check your own Online Session ID in order to share with friends, access options-ps4-controls Start Menu > Communication > Player List to check your ID.

Find People You have Played With

You can search for the Online Session of a player you've recently played with.

You can search by play history by following these steps:
1. Select "Search via Play History" when searching for Online Sessions.
2. Access options-ps4-controls Start Menu > Communication > Recently Played.

Note:
- Play history is reset whenever you quit the game and restart.

Create a Private Session

You can enable private session options to limit your Online Session to being joinable via the "Invite a Friend" and "Search via Session ID" options only.

There are two methods for enabling private session options:
1. When creating an Online Session, and select "Yes" under "Private Session".
2. After you have created an Online Session, access Quest Board or Quest Counter Menu > Online Session > Session Settings, and select "Yes" under "Private Session".

Friend Requests or Blocking Players

You can view the online IDs of players in your Online Session or quest by accessing options-ps4-controls Start Menu > Communication > Player List.

You can view a player's Sony Entertainment Network account (SEN account) profile by selecting their name from the player list and selecting "View Profile".

Sending Friend Requests:
You can send another player a friend request by selecting "Send Friend Request" from their profile screen.

Blocking Other Players:
You can block another player by selecting "..." from their profile screen and then selecting "Block".

What does Blocking do?

You can block communications from another player by blocking their Sony Entertainment Network account (SEN account). Blocking a player will do the following:

- Prevent the player from joining the same Online Session as you (provided the Online Session is one created after the player was blocked).
- Prevent the player from joining the same quest or expedition as you.
- Prevent the player from sending you chat or voice chat (and vice versa).
- Prevent you from seeing gestures performed by the blocked player (and vice versa).
- Prevent the player's Palico from showing up in your game (and vice versa).
- Prevent you from receiving or viewing the player's guild card (and vice versa).
- Prevent the player from joining the same squad as you. You will also be unable to check each other's squad messages.

How to Remove Other Players

You can remove people from your quest or squad when you're its leader.

Removing Quest Members:
- Before departing on a quest, you can remove a player by bringing up the "Party Members' Status" screen and pressing the button to "Remove Player". You can also remove a player by accessing options-ps4-controls Start Menu > Communication > Player List.
- During a quest or expedition, you can remove another player by accessing options-ps4-controls Start Menu > Communication > Player List.

Removing Squad Members:
- You can remove a squad member by accessing options-ps4-controls Start Menu > Communication > Squads > Member List.

Manually Accepting  Quest Join Requests

When you're the quest leader, you can choose whether or not to accept requests to join your quest. Join requests are automatically accepted by default, but can be set to be accepted or rejected manually.

To manually receive join requests, access options-ps4-controls Start Menu > System > Options > Game Settings > Quest Join Settings and change the option to "Manual Accept".

How to disable Voice Chat

You can turn the in-game voice chat on or off by accessing the following:
1. Title Screen Menu > Options > Audio > Voice Chat
2. options-ps4-controls Start Menu > System > Options > Audio > Voice Chat
3. options-ps4-controls Start Menu > Communication > Player List

You can individually mute or unmute players from the player list using the "Mute/Unmute Voice Chat" controls.




Load more
Chat